Just Do It

Everyone knows Nike’s slogan, Just Do It, and how it applies to their athletes just going out there and doing what they do best. But I’ve found that it actually is really applicable to being an adult.

5:15am comes quickly, especially when if you went to bed at 11:30. I spent about twenty minutes contemplating if I should go to Pilates or just cancel and sleep another hour or two. At the very last minute, I decided I wanted to go and got up. I always seem to come up with thousands of excuses of why I shouldn’t leave my bed. “5 more minutes! I’ll be more awake”…”my knee is sore”…”it’s cold”. All of these are frequent excuses I come up with to justify not doing what I need to do.

Learning to just suck it up and just do it is part of being an adult. When you’re living on your own, there’s no parent saying “Rachel, you’re going to be late! You need to get up!” or nagging you to clean the bathroom, it’s all on you.

It’s so easy to let things slide and actually it is kind of freeing to say “I don’t have to do this!” Yeah, I don’t have to do it, but I should. Adulthood is full of choices, some are pretty boring, and the stakes tend to be higher. Just getting up and doing what needs to get done; the laundry, budget, scheduling that appointment, or the tough conversation you’ve been meaning to have with your friend.

What dictates your day is how you respond to the choices at hand. Going to Pilates meant that I had a whole hour before I had to leave for work, which gave me time to throw my lunch in the crockpot, and watch tv before I left. The deciding to just do it is the hardest part. But once you say “okay, I gotta get this done”, the task at hand usually isn’t as bad as you made it up to be.

“Sometimes you gotta work a little, to ball a lot”-Tom Haverford

Leave a Reply

