Good Ole Days

I have heard people say that their best years were in college and some people say that they were in high school. These people I hear say this are mostly in movies, but I still think it’s an interesting thought. The thought that my best years may have already happened. This is an idea that I just can’t get behind. High school was eh at best. College was great, but was it really the best years of my life?

I’m still a pretty young person, so I’m hoping that my best years are yet to come. I enjoy reminiscing on past events. Whenever I get together with my friends we always talk about that one time we did that stupid thing and stayed up way too late but had a lot of fun. Talking about all that stuff is fine, but I want to keep making those stories. I don’t want to keep bringing up the same stories every time we are together, but I want to make new ones. Yeah, that one time we did all those fun things was great, but what if this time we stopped talking about it and we went and started a new story. A story that when we get together in the future we can talk about. And then after that we can do something new again, and talk about that eventually.

I also want to make new stories with new friends. I love my friends, but I do think new stages of life brings new friends. I want to make stories with those friends and tell them about the stories I made with my other friends. Not to forget my other friends but to form and grow new ones for a new stage of life. I haven’t lived that long, but I have lived long enough to learn that some friends last and some don’t. So why dwell on the days of  yore when the future has yet to be built?

I hope my golden years haven’t already happened. If they have then they are slightly fun, but nothing that history will write about. I hope that each year is better than the last, and when I’m old and wrinkly I can look back and say it was a golden life. That I didn’t just have 4 great years, but a life full of excitement. Because if you are already thinking that the best years of your life are behind you then why even move forward?

“Fix your eyes forward on what you can do, not back on what you cannot change.”
― Tom Clancy

Leave a Reply

