Going Back to Cali

I recently went on vacation with my family to California. We use to live in California when I was younger, but we moved to the Midwest right before my freshman year of high school. Now my brothers and sisters and I are scattered in different states, so it was really nice to be able to all meet up in one spot. Normally we try to meet up at our parents’ house, but this time we decided to go to California. We try to go back to California because the majority of our extended family still lives out there. This time we went not just for vacation but also for a wedding which allowed us to see all of our family at once.

Vacationing with my family now that we are mostly adults was extremely fun. We all stayed in a house together rather than multiple hotel rooms. This experience made the vacation feel much more homey and provided a more fun time because we got see each other more. Being able to wake up and make coffee in our pajamas is so much more relaxing than having to get ready and all meet up at Starbucks. We were able to have better relax time than if we stayed in a hotel. We could also buy our own groceries and make homemade meals. It was jus really nice to be in a house with family again.

It was comforting because even as an adult I want to feel like a kid sometimes. Waking up in a house with my siblings and parents gave me that feeling. I also felt this when I went to Dodger Stadium to watch the Dodgers win and when I went to Disneyland to ride Space Mountain multiple times. These places made me full of nostalgia and gave me just as much joy as an adult that I had as a child.

Feeling like a child is great, but I enjoyed this vacation a lot more because I am an adult now. I could have real conversations with my family about important topics that are happening in our lives. We were able to connect deeper than we had before because we all treated each other with respect rather than bickered about who got to sit where in the car. Bickering happened but it was much more light hearted and we all just felt grateful to be together. Vacationing back to a place where we all grew up together allowed us to reconnect in a way that we have not been able to for a while.

“What shall you do all your vacation?’, asked Amy. “I shall lie abed and do nothing”, replied Meg.”
― Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

Leave a Reply

