Gotta Catch ‘Em All

With the release of Pokemon Go! young adults everywhere are getting up and going outside to catch, evolve, and battle Pokemon. Like a lot of other Christians my age, I did not grow up playing Pokemon because they were believed to be demonic, but my upbringing did not stop me from downloading Pokemon Go! and joining the millions of others playing. This is the first experience I have ever had with Pokemon, so I have asked a lot of questions to my friends who are Pokemasters. My starter Pokemon was a Bulbasaur even though I really wanted Squirtle (I didn’t realize I was choosing I thought I could catch all three starters). From there my journey into the Pokeverse began.

I have quickly become well versed in the different types of Pokemon and evolved the ones I have caught into bigger and badder fighters. I was always aware that Pokemon was a big deal because I had many friends who played. But, growing up I just thought all the people playing were super-nerds and I much rather play baseball than a card game. It wasn’t until high school did I realize that it was really the GameBoy games that were the big deal and not the card game. Even still I thought first person shooters were more fun, so I continued to shrug it off. Now that Pokemon as entered the real world, like no game before it, I have decided to give it a shot. Let me tell you, it is really freaking addicting. Like never before, this game allows its player to explore local areas and catch fictional creatures as if they are real.

Perhaps more fun then actually catching the Pokemon is the social interaction. I will go out with groups of friends to local areas that we know are busy with wild Pokemon. We all try to out do each other and catch better Pokemon then the others in the squad. But what is even more fun is that every time I go out to catch Pokemon, or to hatch eggs in my incubator, I run into dozens of other players. The vast majority of the players that I run into are people my age. People who have formed squads like my own and gone out to catch and battle Pokemon. I have yet to run into a kid that is playing the game. The youngest I have run into is maybe 18. Young adults are the ones playing this game because they are the generation that grew up with the original games. It is both hilarious and awesome to see young adults jumping in joy when they catch a Charmander. The Millennial generation is so obsessed with nostalgia that they will play games like Pokemon Go! for hours, if not days, at a time.

For me, Pokemon Go! has given me a glimpse of the past that I never took part in. I think a lot of people are using this as a way to cling onto the past because it makes them feel like a kid again. With everything happening around the world people are wanting to be apart of something light-hearted and fun. I have taken part in the fun, but the nostalgia should not distract from the real issues facing our world. If we can have this much fun together while so much evil is happening then maybe we can unite to stop some of the real problems.

“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Leave a Reply

