Four more years

     I’m twenty-three years old and have my master’s degree in psychology. I just committed to another (hopefully) four years of school to get my doctorate in clinical psychology so I can fulfill my career goal of becoming a clinical neuropsychologist; which I’ve had since my junior year of high school. To say that getting into the program was difficult would be an understatement. From transcripts getting misplaced to taking the GRE twice to giving myself a deadline on when to give up thinking about going to school in the fall, I am glad to be done with that rollercoaster and to begin a new one.
     The next four years definitely aren’t like undergrad. To sum it up, it’s academics that are adding advanced knowledge while cementing what I already have learned, while spending several years doing on the job training. The downside to this is that it’s recommended that I work no more than 10 hours a week. For someone who works multiple jobs, and has at different periods of time worked around 50-60 hours a week, this is a hard adjustment to make. I love working. It gives me something to do and I enjoy having money.
     It’s a weird feeling being 23, with a graduate degree, but still relying on my parents support. My parents don’t mind as much, because they know it’s not forever and it’s easy for them to support their kid who will be Dr. Rachel at the end of this round. I know I am very blessed to have this support system because I have friends who don’t. While I may complain about having to ball on a budget, I really don’t mind because I would rather turn down dinners than to not be working on my dream. While I will cut back on hours that I physically have to be at work, I have a new job lined up where I will work online at my convenience, which is a blessing.
     I’m really excited to be starting the last chapter of my formal education. Of course, I will still continue to educate myself while in my career, but this is the last hoop I have to jump through to get into my career. Now if only I could get people to stop asking me if I’m excited to start college [undergrad].
“Wisdom is not a product of schooling but of the lifelong attempt to acquire it.” -Albert Einstein
2 thoughts on “Four more years

Leave a Reply

