In Summary

I think we can all agree that 2016 has been a long and challenging year. Usually by this time of the year I think to myself “Wow, this year really flew by.” I certainly do not think that about 2016. To me, this year seemed to drag and limp on making it seem to last forever. Now that it is coming to a close my thoughts are “Oh, thank God.”

This year saw some very interesting moments in humanity. In the US we witnessed a presidential race that polarized the country in a way my generation had never seen. Racial tensions grew to a level that caused many violent and terrible situations. There were many deaths of beloved celebrities like Alan Rickman, David Bowie, Prince, and Carrie Fisher. Around the world the refugee crisis continued to cause challenges for those trying to help and those trying to survive. We tried to escape all the madness using the internet and celebrating dead gorillas. It was a tough year, and by the end it seems like everyone is ready to start over with 2017.

For me, the year saw a lot of ups and downs. I have spoken about many of them on this blog. You’ve read about how adulting isn’t quite as easy as I hoped it would be, and how law school has been even harder. I also talked about the fun of traveling alone, vacationing with family, and learning to catch ’em all. But,there are things that I didn’t tell you about. Like how I lost a mentor and it caused a lot of my stress throughout the year. Or, how I became a published author thus achieving a life long dream of mine (It’s published in a short story anthology called Just One Drop if you want to buy it [shameless self promotion]). The year was too long and too complicated to write about everything.

If it’s one thing I learned in 2016 it is to endure the hardships and relish the moments things go right. The year felt like one of those tv shows where as soon as something goes right then one of the main characters dies. But, that moment where things were right it felt so good. Now that the year is coming to a close I am relieved to think that 2017 holds many possibilities. In the new year we have the ability start fresh. Maybe the main character will live on and be able to have more right moments then hardships.

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.”
― T.S. Eliot

One thought on “In Summary

Leave a Reply

