Getting to Know Yourself

One thing that I really enjoy is taking personality tests. I cannot explain why I like them so much other than just saying that I like to learn about myself. It does not matter what kind of test it is. If the title says “We Can Tell You Your Personality Based on Your Taste in Pizza Toppings” then you bet I have taken that test. I even enjoy the official tests that are hundreds of questions long. I have had to do this a few times for jobs and recently I took one for school. The test was one that normally costs a lot of money to take, but it was required for one of my classes so I got it for “free” (price of tuition excluded). It was then scored by students in our university’s school of psychology. I had to meet with one of the students to go over my results, and they were fascinating.

Since I enjoy taking personality tests I have taken a lot of them, and the results never really surprise me. What surprises me is the ability to be so accurate based on the types of questions they ask. The test for school was well over two hundred questions long and you had to answer on a scale of strongly disagree to strongly agree. Some other questions read “You believe you are a superior person” or “You enjoy to be around large groups of people.” I finished the test in about twenty minutes, and waited in anticipation for my results.

A few weeks later I met with a psychology student to hear my results. We went to a back room where he told me that the test revealed that I was strong willed, extremely extroverted, competitive, prone to anxiety, and I often don’t show my emotions. I already knew about all of this. And for those who have read this blog this may not sound new to you either. I have read this multiple times from the various personality tests that I have taken, but many of those tests were informal. This personality test was legit, and it was weird to hear things about myself from an official source.

While there are things in my personality that are true at its base there are many things that are not true to me. I say this because I test into a certain personality grouping, but that does not mean it is 100% accurate. One thing that personality tests never take into account is one’s acts taken to counteract some of the weaknesses. For instance, a personality test never tests for a person’s relationship with God. While my base personality may say that I am prone to anxiety, and I often am, it does not show that I read Scripture and pray for the Lord to help me with this issue.

One’s relationship with God balances out the weaknesses in your personality. Also, some of the things that are considered weaknesses may not be at all. For instance, the test results said that I am very strong willed, and the psychology student told me that this could be an area of growth for me to be more agreeable. However, given the type of employment that I feel called to be in having a strong will can work in my favor. Perhaps I was made with this because of what I am suppose to do with my life.

Learning about myself is a lot of fun, and I will continue to do so in order to improve. However, the results of personality tests are only going to be taken with a grain of salt. What really matters is that my actions line up with what Scripture says. While this is difficult, it is something that I will continue to work toward.

“But then one regrets the loss even of one’s worst habits. Perhaps one regrets them the most. They are such an essential part of one’s personality.”
― Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

