Sitting, Waiting, Wishing

They say that patience is a virtue. It is definitely a virtue that I am trying to learn. There are things in life that do not happen right away. Despite society’s desire to have everything right now there are some things that take time. I am currently waiting on a few things to happen. I’ll spare you the details, but lets just say I wish they would happen a lot faster.

I sit for a good portion of each day. Whether it be at work, school, or leisure I don’t often do much more than sit and stare at a screen. Whilst sitting a lot of good work can be done. At work I connect with people to help them reach their dreams. For school I sit to learn the necessary information to reach my own dreams. And during leisure I simply dream because I’m so tired of doing of other two things. Sitting is a big part of my day, and sometimes I just want to run. If I could run or do something active while doing the other three things that would be ideal.

While I sit I also wait for things to happen. Recently a friend of mine has challenged me to make 2017 the year to be bold. In that challenge I have stepped out in faith to try and accomplish some goals I wish to achieve. I have definitely been more bold than I have been in a long time. However, being bold does not mean that things happen right away. I stepped out but I still haven’t seen the results of my actions. So, I sit and wait. Waiting is super hard. Like I said, patience is still a virtue that I am trying to learn. I think God has been trying to teach it to me for a long time now, but I just love to get things done as soon as possible. Why wait when you can have it now? In adult life not everything happens right now. The big important things take time and patience.

So while I sit and wait I also wish. I wish for things to happen faster. I wish for things to happen the I way want them to. I wish for a lot. Most of what I wish for is beyond my control. Another area in which God is teaching me is the area of control. I can’t do everything myself. In everything you have to trust that God has it under control, but also like how I’m not great at waiting I’m also not great at giving up control. But again, not everything can be taken under my control. I have to give it up and let God work on my behalf. So, I sit, wait, and wish for the things I want. But, I ultimately trust God. Trust that He works on my behalf. Trust that He has a plan for me. And trust that He will take care of me.

“Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet.”
― Aristotle

Leave a Reply

